TWO TYPES ONLY?…I Corinthians 1:18-25

In our travels, we’ve met all kinds of people.  Some live enviably.  Others less so.  Reading 1 Corinthians, a phrase the Apostle Paul uses makes me wonder.  ‘For the word of the cross is folly to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God’ (1Cor. 1:18).

Is he saying that ultimately there are only two types of people–those who are perishing and those being saved?  Sounds judgmental and offensive to modern ears.   Yet, that’s what the Bible says, like it or not.

Nevertheless, don’t give up on anyone you’ve been praying for.  Paul says that unbelievers ‘are perishing’.  On the wrong path.  A dead-end.  A cliff once fallen off of, never to be climbed back out of.  But they haven’t perished yet.  In the process.  But with hope.

Keep praying.  Keep sharing Jesus.  Don’t give up on anyone.

I remember an older man in one of my churches.  I really liked him, but he wanted nothing to do with spiritual things.  As a young boy, he was involved in church.  But something went wrong.  I never knew what.  But I did know that he always enjoyed my home visits, even when I got in his face about believing in Jesus…or else!  He brought out a hard-hitting side of me!

One morning I received a call from his wife that his time was short and he wanted to see me.  No time to waste.  Come now!  I did and he was eager to ask the Lord Jesus to be his Savior.  No more of his snide comments.  Now he reaches out his hand to the One who will save him from the brink of no return.  Later that day, he enters the presence of his loving and forgiving God!  Where there is breath, there is hope.  Never give up sharing and praying.

And for us?  Who are being saved?  We are on a journey of growth and maturity.  God’s not done with us.  Heaven will be expansive, extensive, and unlimited.  We don’t have a clue as to the pleasures of paradise!  Life, better and better, for all eternity!  Never arriving.  Never boring.  For this is God’s gift.  All of life’s fullness…forever!  All ‘being saved’ for us!

Prayer:  Thank you, Lord, for life unending alongside Jesus.  Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

