SOME NEEDED LIGHT…Psalm 132: 13-18

Recently my wife and I rented a house on the beach along the Oregon Coast.  A cozy cottage with large windows, giving us expansive views of the Pacific Ocean.  Each day it poured.  Buckets really and then clear skies with stars, planets, the Milky Way in plain sight from the hot tub we often soaked in.  We had weather in most of its Pacific Northwest winter varieties!

We slept in separate bedrooms as each had a too small bed for both of us to comfortably sleep in.  Mine had an archway that you had to be careful of when getting in or out of bed.  My head a ready target.  Have a few bruises to prove it!

Our rental home was in a remote cove that had no street lights and few neighbors.  Night comes early in winter.  When the interior lights go out, darkness becomes an eerie companion.  Unwelcome to the likes of me.  Invariably, I’ll wake up at an unknown hour to a start and startle that ushers fear and panic within.  I have to get up to shake off that old suspicion of being abandoned all-over-again.

That feeling I first experienced when I was two years old, as polio forced me to be placed in isolation in a hospital ward far from home.  That was many decades ago.  More than six.  Yet those scary, inhospitable hospital nights linger somewhere within, to frighten me in strange places.

So, what to do?  You no doubt have shadows lurking within that have been dragged along from your past.  Memories that haunt more than comfort.  That rear their ugly heads with almost no provocation.  Know what I mean?

Psalm 132: 17 says–‘…I have prepared a lamp for my anointed.’  When we become born again through faith in Jesus, we become one of God’s anointed.  Blessed and forgiven.  God’s child.  His own.  Secure.  What does He give us?  ‘A lamp…’!  Exactly what’s needed!  He sheds needed light.

Does that mean I’m all better?  Not quite.  But more like a hand has been extended to me to hold onto.  A strength beyond myself.  Light.  Don’t need much for a little goes a long way.

I know myself a tad better these days.  I’m not so ashamed to admit who I am.  Most of all, I know I can count on the Lord when I feel so ‘childish’ with fears from long ago.  He’ll be there for me.  He will.  We can always count on Jesus.  Always!  For He said, ‘I am the light of the world’ (John 8:12).  Even my little world!  And yours, too!

Prayer:  Thank you, Lord, for being light in the dark.  In Jesus’ name.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

