DOUBTS AND MORE DOUBTS…John 8: 42-47

When I was a new Christian, I was dogged by doubts.  Doubts about whether I was a true believer.  Couldn’t shake those horrible feelings.  How could I go forward with Jesus when I wasn’t sure I was His?  And I was in Bible College for summer classes!  Yet miserable with doubts.  When attending evangelistic church services, I went forward three times.  Baptized and then re-baptized.  Anxious and insecure.

I wanted closeness with the Lord.  More than anything, to be His child.  But instead–churning, tossing, heaving feelings of uncertainty.  Doubts and more doubts.  Until I grabbed hold of Bible verses like those found in John chapter 8–‘He who belongs to God hears what God says…’ (v. 47).  Longing to belong.  God’s child hears Him.  Listening–the answer to my doubts?

Slowly but surely, I began to realize that the time to worry about whether I’m saved or not was when I could care less about it…or Him.  When I tell God to go His way and I’ll go mine.

But that wasn’t me.  Not at all.  Quite the contrary.  I genuinely wanted to know the Lord, but wasn’t aware that He even gave a ‘hoot’ about me.  So, the more I read God’s Word, the more time I spent with Him, the less space there was for those infernal doubts.  I say, ‘good riddance’!

If you hear Him, listen to Him and follow Him as best you can.  Warts and all.  Skinning your spiritual knees more often than not.  Nevertheless, we’re His.  He so wants us to know that.  For sure.  No doubt about it!

He’ll give you His assurance.  Knowing we’re His, strengthens us to keep living for Him.  When we doubt someone’s love, it limits our closeness to them.  Same with the Lord.  Settle right now that you believe in Jesus and want Him as Lord of your life, every moment of every day.  Settled.  Then, the Bible will be your tuning fork, registering the right note and the right pitch as you harmonize with Jesus!

Aren’t you glad you’re a child of God?  The more time we spend with Him, the less we’ll have for doubts and confusion.  His child.  Now… and forever!

Prayer:  Lord, you are so good to us, making us your children by faith alone in Jesus your Son.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

