MIGHTY GOOD APPLE!…Zechariah 2: 1-13

One of the earliest varieties of apple that we enjoy here in the Pacific Northwest is the Ginger Gold.  Crunchy, sweet and juicy!  Usually available by mid-August.  It signals that all the other apple varieties are just around the corner!

An expression used in the book of Zechariah is quite remarkable.  You’ll find it in chapter 2:8–‘…for whoever touches you touches the apple of His eye…’  A vivid reminder of how the Lord feels about us.  We are ‘the apple of His eye’.   Which means what?

The ‘apple’ is a poetic way of referring to the pupil of our eye.  The eye is one of the most complex organs in our body.  Have something touch it, and the pain will be excruciating.

A few years ago, my wife and I stayed at the old Lodge at Crater Lake in Oregon.  A gorgeous, volcano-created lake, deep as deep can be, producing the bluest water we’ve ever seen.  We drove to the other side of the lake, parked our van and walked down a rather steep trail to the water’s edge.

What a windy day it was.  Blowing in all directions.  That’s when a tiny stone fragment flew up into the air, got behind my glasses and lodged itself firmly in the side of my eyeball.  Ooooh, what pain!  Piercing, constant, unrelenting.  And this was in the side of my eye.  Not the pupil, which is more tender and vulnerable.

We are the apple of God’s eye.  He feels for us with an intensity we can hardly imagine.  Let me be honest with you.  How many times have I felt that God was way off in outer space with hardly a thought for little old me in this tiny corner of the world?  Anybody out there?  Anyone hear me?  Does He care?  Can He find me?

That’s when I need to munch into and digest that little phrase about being ‘the apple of God’s eye’.  As such, our fears and tears, flops and joys, all touch Him at His core.  Deeply.  Whether I’m aware of it or not.  Whatever gets in our ‘eyes’ gets in His, but more so.  Whatever grabs my heart has been in His all along.

Keep repeating–‘I’m the apple of God’s eye’.  Over and over.  That’s far better than even the best Ginger Gold apple, the first of the season!

Prayer:  Thank you, Lord, for always caring for us.  In Jesus’ name.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

