HELP WHEN YOU NEED IT MOST… Ephesians 2: 11-22, Hebrews 4:12, Ephesians 3:12

I was in excruciating pain.   Throbbing in agony.   Thought I could handle it and wait for my appointment with the dentist in a few days.  No.  My root canal could no longer be put off.  Praise the Lord, my dentist has a compassionate staff.  Told them I couldn’t stand it a minute longer.  I’m here to stay.  Help!!

Got right in.  When the dentist returned from lunch, he immediately put off what he had scheduled, and came to help me.   A week later my wife and I flew off to my Moody Bible Institute’s college reunion.  Free from pain…and freed of a thousand dollars!

What I’m not sure about is if I hadn’t already been a patient of this dentist for many years, what they would have done for me?  Having that long-standing relationship helped.  That’s called access.  Came from a relationship of trust and dependability on both sides.  The dentist for me, and me for him.

This is what I thought about when I was reading Ephesians 2:8.  The context describes clearly salvation by God’s grace.  What do we receive after we trust Jesus?  A set of new rules?  Not really.  A button to wear?  None that I’ve found.

What we receive is access to God Himself.  ‘For through (Jesus) we both (Jews and Gentiles) have access in one Spirit to the Father’ (Ephesians 2:18).  Access, entrance, welcome, and admission to the King of Kings with ticket paid for by His only Son.  Bottom line:  we have entre to God.

As it says in the letter to the Hebrews–‘Let us then with confidence draw near to the throne of grace, that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need’ (4:16).  This privilege of access has nothing to do with how good we’ve been.  Absolutely nothing.  It has everything to do with what Jesus has done for us.  As Paul writes–‘…in Christ Jesus our Lord, in whom we have boldness and access with confidence through our faith in Him’ (Ephesians 3:11-12).

Our part?  To rely on Him.  That’s called faith.  To live a life dependent on the only truly dependable One in all the universe.  So, pull up your chair next to His.  Snuggle up a little closer.

Keep your relationship with the Lord filled with love and kind words of praise.  You’ll find that He’s totally accessible to you no matter what life throws at you.  He’s the catcher able to handle any curveball thrown our way by the enemy!  Our catcher…in the sky!

Prayer:  Lord, we thank you that you are always there for us.  In Jesus’ name.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

