COME ON! GROW UP!… Ephesians 4: 1-16

‘Come on!  Grow up!’  Easier said than done.  Now that I’m old as dirt, seems like I still have lots of ‘growing up’ to do!  I’m embarrassed to admit it; but, nevertheless, it’s so true.

What does it mean to grow up and mature?  Ephesians 4: 15– ‘Rather, speaking the truth in love, we are to grow up in every way into Him who is the head, into Christ…'(ESV).  ‘Grow up in every way…’  The call to follow Jesus.  Lifelong–at least from the moment of conversion.  Total–not flirting with the fun parts only, ignoring the inconvenient or unpleasant.

Grow up in Him.  Lifelong.  Total.  That’s it!  Never will be a time, in this life, when I can say that I’m fully grown.  Always more… maturing in my faith.

So , why do I have rooms in my life’s ‘house’ where God is not welcome?  Worries that are mine alone.  Secrets I hope  known only to me.  Sins engrained as unholy habits.  Know what I mean?

Growing up is a total commitment.  Getting serious about God in ALL my life.   A prayer for the Holy Spirit’s help as I’m helpless on my own.

I look at the bends in the roads of my life, the twists and turns along the way.  I’ve seen that God has been with me, even when I’ve gotten terribly lost.  Especially there and then.  He’s my faithful companion– on the good roads and even those littered with pot-holes, many of my own making.

In His hands, nothing will be wasted, nothing beyond repair.  Guilty times will weigh less as He lifts the burdens.  Isaiah 43: 25 says, ‘I, I am He who blots out your transgressions for my own sake, and I will not remember your sins.’  Pot-holes…all filled!

God straightens the crooked roads, and lifts high the low valleys.  He waters the desert and brings flowers where only weeds were growing before.  And this is in our lives…yours and mine!

One thing more.  This business of growing up…in every way?  It’s all about being ‘in Him who is the Head, into Christ, from whom the whole body, joined and held together by every joint with which it is equipped, when each part is working properly, makes the body grow so that it builds itself up in love’ (Ephesians 4: 15-16 ESV).  Not growing up for us alone but for Him… who is our All in All!

Prayer:  Lord, help us to grow up.  To be more like your Son Jesus.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

