FROM MY COLLEGE YEARBOOK… 2 Timothy 3: 16-17

In 1970 I graduated from the Moody Bible Institute in Chicago.  Our yearbook was called the ‘Arch’.  No, this was not  podiatry school!  Named for the main entrance brick archway.  As graduating seniors, we were to choose a Bible verse that would be printed below our names and photos in the yearbook.  I chose 2 Timothy 3: 16–‘All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting, and training in righteousness…’  A good choice, wouldn’t you agree?

But why this verse?  Hopefully, not to fill in some required blank on my yearbook information page!  Another thing off my ‘to-do’ list.  Knowing me, I wonder!

Don’t get me wrong.  I know where truth can be found.  The older I get, the more I believe the Bible and the less everything and everyone else.  I’ve been around those who think the Bible is mere myth and fable, unscientific and outdated, bigoted antiquity.  I’ve heard their arguments.  I can sniff them out from miles away.

I’ve studied under some.  I’ve been to a seminary that used to stand solid on God’s Word.  Past tense.  Ordained by a denomination that has blasted itself far away from the unmistakable truths of Scripture.  I’ve been in a pastor’s Bible study where one stomped out of the room because someone, me and a few others, felt that God’s Word trumped their vaunted ‘human wisdom’.   I know that the Bible is totally trustworthy.  You too?

I’m glad I chose 2 Timothy 3: 16 for that yearbook.  My only regret is not adding the next verse.  The one about being a man of God, one thoroughly equipped.  As I look back, I can see some disconnect between knowing and living.  Between my head and my heart.  Old habits which are hard to break.  But with the Holy Spirit’s help, the dots start to connect between my mind and my will,  having a faith that works.

Can’t add that verse back into my old yearbook, but can decide to live for Him today.  Present tense.  To apply… what I know in His Word.  Connect the dots!   Join me?

Prayer:  Lord, we want to know your Word much better.  And then to apply it to our lives.  In Jesus’ name.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

