I’VE ORDERED BOTOX!…Psalm 90

Yes, I’ve ordered botox!!  Why not?  After what I’ve been through?  Almost too embarrassing to mention.  Almost!  My wife and I were driving into the ticket area of dazzling Butchart Gardens in Victoria, British Columbia.  Hinting for a discount, I asked the young gal if they offered either a senior or AAA reduction.  Very nicely she said that they offered neither, but would I prefer a ‘close to park’ pass so we could hobble into the gardens without having to stretch our legs the extra 15 feet!

Then I get an invitation to my high school class ‘Our 70th Birthday Party’ bash in Florida next April.  70th?  Are we really that old?  To top it off, I’ve sent my photo, as requested, to the Moody Bible Institute’s Alumni Department where they will announce the publication of my daily devotional book.  Sue took a number of pictures of me.  Some from this angle, some from that.  She wanted to know which one I liked best.  How about none!  Any photo from the back of my head?  Who is that old man she snapped a photo of?  The one with wrinkles on top of wrinkles wrapped in more…well, you get the picture!

Now you know why I’ve ordered Botox.  Not!  Is this why people have always said I don’t look my age?  Maybe they meant older… and none wiser!  Enough whining for today, Fischer.  Get to the Bible already.  Psalm 90: 10–‘The length of our days is seventy years–or eighty, if we have the strength; yet their span is but trouble and sorrow, for they quickly pass, and we fly away’.  Now I feel worse…until I look further in this psalm.

Moses, the author, says: ‘… to number our days’ (v.12).  Cherish each one.  Make them count for more than a mere 24 hours, 1440 minutes.  Determine to get closer to God, and we’ll find wisdom placing a firmer hold on our soul and heart.

Pray to be satisfied and content with all the blessings the Lord has given us.  Not focusing on what we don’t have or what could have been.  That will waste more time than we imagine.  Forget about rehearsing all those sins we’ve confessed to God but still carry around on our shoulders like He’s still considering whether to forgive us or not.  When He forgives, He forgives.  I need to believe Him more and more.  Is that you, also?  Wisdom, even if a bit late, is well worth having.

I’m cancelling that order for botox.  Like Popeye, I’ll say:  ‘I yam what I yam’!   I’m also throwing myself at the Lord’s feet, knowing He’ll lift me up in due time.  His time.  What a time that will be.  Won’t even need special, close-to-heaven’s-gate parking!

Prayer:  For all your blessings, Lord, we humbly thank you.  In Jesus’ name.  Amen.

 

One thought on “I’VE ORDERED BOTOX!…Psalm 90

  1. I told you that I didn’t recognize you after having not seen you for many months. Thank you and Popeye and Botox for the encouraging words. Want to buy some Botox cheap?

Leave a Reply

