SO MUCH MORE!…Luke 5: 17-26

They came seeking help for their friend.  Friends helping a friend in need.  Unfortunately, when they got to the house where Jesus was speaking, there was absolutely no room.  Not to be deterred, they cart their disabled friend up to the roof, and literally dismantle a large section of it, lowering him down to the One they hope could heal.  Jesus sees the friend’s persistence, knowing that this adds up to faith in Him.  Jesus simply speaks the word and the man is made whole.  Amazing!  Unbelievable!  But we’ve seen it with our own eyes!  Yes, the man gets up on his two good feet, rolls up his mat that he used to lie on, and off he goes home, thanking God with each good step he takes!

Unfortunately, not everyone is thrilled.  The religious leaders smell blasphemy in the air.  Jesus not only heals this man, but declares that his sins are forgiven.  That’s going too far.  Only God can forgive sins.  Is that what Jesus means?  Really?  Absolutely!

The paralytic gets the use of his legs.  He seeks physical healing but gets much more.  That’s what happens when we encounter Jesus.  We come for a variety of reasons.   Why did you?  For me, I felt lonely and worthless.  A mediocre high school student.  I remember getting ‘B’s and ‘C’s mainly.  A few ‘D’s idly sprinkled here-and-there.  Had a few friends.  Not many.  Emotionally isolated, in the little upstairs bedroom, at my parent’s house.

That’s when a radio program acted like friends lowering me down in front of Jesus.  I never knew that He even gave one hoot about me.  That He cared?  Loved me?  Never heard that before…until a Sunday evening on the radio.   Jesus eagerly desired to be in my life.  Guess what?  I prayed.  He came to be with me.  Little old me.  I got companionship from Jesus, exactly what I needed.

But we get much more.  Think about all He’s given us since that first time we met Him.  All those blessings!  Immediately, I started getting better grades.  Now a child of God!  When I graduated from High School, I was a straight ‘A’ student.

Maybe I was worth something?  In Jesus, without a doubt!  Had new friends…in a new church where Christ was preached and the Bible taught.  He keeps giving…more and more.  More than we could ever imagine.  Much more…

Prayer:  Thank you, Lord, for all you’ve done for us.  We’re so grateful.  In Jesus’ name.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

