THAT SUMMER AT L’ABRI!… Psalm 15

The summer of 1969, I was off to Europe.  That fall I would start my senior year at the Moody Bible Institute.  Had worked a few jobs in downtown Chicago, having saved $500 for that summer in Europe!  Money went a lot farther in those days.  Booked a cheap charter flight.  A boat ride across the English Channel.  Train from Belgium to Geneva.  Then a bus travelling up the mountains to a small village named Huemoz, overlooking the Rhone Valley in the magnificent Swiss Alps.  To study with Dr. Francis Schaeffer at L’Abri Fellowship.  I was a guest at this Christian commune– to study and hear from Dr. Schaeffer and his staff.  But I got into trouble!

No, didn’t run out of money.  No illicit relationships.  No heresy detected.  Only my big mouth laced with sarcastic humor nailed me as a mischief-maker!  We were studying the fall of Adam and Eve.  Original sin.  At breakfast someone dropped the jar of marmalade.  I immediately labelled it ‘fallen marmalade’ to the livid disgust and fire-storm anger of our chalet host!  Immediately, with his German-accent reminiscent of my Aunt Bertha, he confronted me with the option of keeping quiet or getting my hide out of town.  Who me?  The now and forever quiet one?!  I was not the gracious guest they wanted me to be.  But I became such, watching what I said, at least in front of the staff!

Needed to be a good guest.  As in Psalm 15.   The Lord invites us into His tent on His holy hill.  Opens the tent flap, inviting us to join Him.  Like Jesus said–‘Come unto me all you who are burdened and heavy laden, and I will give you rest'(Matthew 11: 28).   The Bible overflows with God’s hospitality.  He loves sharing time with us.  Our intimate companionship is so precious to our Lord.

Psalm 15:2-5 –describes the guests and how they behave.  Verse 2 tells of their character–blameless, doing good things, speaking truth from within.  No masks or phony flattery.

Verse 3 is for me.  Watch what you say.  The Hebrew for ‘…who does not slander with his tongue…’  literally means ‘does not go about with his tongue’.  Suggesting what?  All talk …no godly action.  Make sure our words and deeds match up.

Verse 4 speaks of loyalty to the Lord and His people.  Pray for each other.  Encourage.  Model living for the Lord.

Verse 5 says that we’ll be good guests when we’re generous.

The point of this Psalm?  Be a good guest!  Sensitive and gracious.  Our Host loves being with you…and even me!  Like that summer at L’Abri, it’s time to be His good guest, growing up…in Him!

Prayer:  Lord, we are blessed and honored that you want to spend time with us.  You are such a marvelous Host.  May our lives show that we are your good guests.  In Jesus’ name.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

