THE LOOK ON HIS FACE… Psalm 17

I can picture the look on his face.  Not a pretty sight.  Of disappointment and anger.  Mistrust and broken loyalties.  This was a man I greatly respected.  Cherished him as a brother in Christ.  Yet, after completing a Sunday evening Bible study, he approached me with what felt like a dagger.

Confronted me with this– that his son hated me and felt I was a terrible excuse for a pastor.  I was speechless.  That’s something for me!   The look on his face cut like broken glass through ribbons.  When I felt somewhat composed, I asked him what in the world he was talking about.  He said that his son had had it in for me ever since he saw that I wore a Rolex watch.  How could any pastor wear such a pricey bauble and still claim to follow Christ?  I could feel the blood rising.  Steam was coming off the roof of my red-haired head!  I’m about to blow!  I didn’t… as it turns out.

Suggested that I stop by this friend’s house to discuss this further.  I wondered what had happened to my Rolex watch.  Had someone stolen it?  Is there an insurance claim I should make?  Looking at my left arm, I can clearly see my Rolex.  Wait a second.  Does it say ‘Rolex’?  It ends in ‘ex’.   Upon further examination, my Rolex turns out to be a Timex!  Yes, a cheap-o, under $20 wonder!  What did this ‘friend’ say when I showed him my watch?   Not much.

Psalm 17: 15– King David prays, ‘And … I will see your face; when I awake, I will be satisfied with seeing your likeness’.  Seeing God’s face will be pleasure par excellence.  The ultimate joy.  The look on His face far different from any who may misunderstand us.  Psalm 27:4– David says ‘One thing I ask of the Lord, this is what I seek that I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, to gaze upon the beauty of the Lord…’  His face will shine upon us, not in anger or disgust or false accusation but in beauty.  After all, when the Lord sees us, He sees His Son most of all.  And that puts a smile on His face, the likes of which we’ll never, ever forget!  Amen?  Amen…

Prayer:  Thank you, Lord, for the kind and loving look on your face as you see us.   In Jesus’ name.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

