SINCE MY YOUTH…Psalm 71

Whoever wrote Psalm 71 certainly said it better than I could.  I identify with much in this psalm.  Like the struggles of the psalmist–‘though you have made me see troubles, many and bitter…'(v.20)and ‘…for those who wanted to harm me…'(v.24).  Life– precarious and uncertain.

Struggles began for me at age two.  My family had moved from the city to the suburbs, but days after I contracted the polio virus.  Back to the city I went, in isolation, for varied treatments.  Some controversial at the time.  First sign of disease?  My sister says that I refused to eat ice cream.  Tell-tale sign of troubles in my family!

Isolation ward.  The home I was used to?  Gone.  The family who cared for me?  Gone.  I learned that life at any moment will shake you out the door into the unknown world of crying children, boiling hot packs, mean-looking nurses, endless exercises, culminating with shrill sounds in a very dark room at night.  As the psalmist prays–‘rescue me and deliver me…(v.2).

I thank God for an Australian nurse, Sister Kenny, who pioneered the polio treatment method.  And my mother, who exercised me at home for many years.  Today, hardly any outward, discernable signs of polio in my body.  A healing for sure.

At sixteen I heard for the first time of God’s plan of salvation through His Son Jesus.  Which day and month?  Can’t tell you.   Don’t remember.  But another healing occurred, in my soul.  I heard that Jesus loved me.  I wanted Him in my life and He wanted me in His.  I never knew that before.  Do you?  Open your heart to Him today.  Now.  No regrets will be yours.

And now I’m perfect!  Far…far…far from it, on a good day!   I’m just an old sinner, saved by God’s grace.  Anyway, it’s not about me…or you.  It’s all about Him.  Jesus.  Who He is and what’s He’s done for us.  That’s good news.  As the psalmist says, ‘…you have been my hope, O Sovereign Lord, my confidence since my youth'(v.5).  As I said earlier, couldn’t have said it better myself!

Prayer:  Dear Lord, thank you that life is really all about you.  From you we receive our wholeness and meaning.  Thank you.  In Jesus’ name and for His sake.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

