THE END IN SIGHT!… Psalm 102: 23-28

I can clearly see the finish line.  It’s right over there, beyond the sunset.   But how long it will take to get there is a mystery.  Obstacles and joys on the way?  Time will tell.  Only the Lord knows for sure, and He’s very quiet about those kinds of details.

What finish line, you’re wondering?  Well, THE finish line…as when I’m finished!  Not with this devotional, but with life itself!  A lot of things remind me that the upward half of my life crawled by as if on all fours, but this downward half is picking up lots of steam as I approach the finish line.  You know what I mean?

Some hints about this can be felt with upcoming high school, college and graduate school reunions, as in the big 50th for each.  Can you believe it?  I can’t!  During the next 8 years, 50th class reunions will be held for all three.  I thought those were only for old people.  They are, you say.  And why are you pointing the finger at me!?  What events will be scheduled?  Wheelchair races?  Who came the farthest with the most prescription med’s in hand?  Who has the most facial wrinkles per square inch?  With my attitude, maybe I shouldn’t attend!  But we will.  Lord willing, wouldn’t miss them for the world.  I guess!

Psalm 102– “‘O my God’, I say, ‘take me not away in the midst of my days– you whose years endure throughout all generations!'”  My days…His years and His generations.  Isn’t that great?  Psalm 102 goes on to talk about creation folding itself up, heading ‘out of Dodge’.  Like a worn-out garment.  A robe changed later in the day.  Such will be this good earth some day.

‘The children of your servants shall dwell secure; their offspring shall be established before you'(Psalm 102: 28).  We, who know the Lord, will be safe and secure, protected and at peace, enjoying His loving care forever.  Forever.  That’s a big word for a long time.  Forever and ever!  Even longer, if that were possible.

Our moment…His forever.  His forever…now ours!  As if He places His arms around us, moving us closer to Him where no one and nothing can ever harm us again.

Time may be getting short for me.  But His time with us will be never ending.  I think I’ll lean real hard on Him.  Want to join me?  There’s plenty of room!  And lots of time!

Prayer:  Father, our time may be going by quickly; but you, our God, will keep us close.  In Jesus’ name.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

