GIVE IT YOUR VERY BEST!… Colossians 3: 12-17

Being a television star is not all it’s cracked up to be!  I should know!  I had a weekly television show on our Christian public access station for a period of 5 years.  It was 28 1/2 minutes in length, to be precise!  Tuesday evenings with a repeat Wednesday afternoon.

Did hundreds of shows with Christians of all denominations, ages, and jobs.  Pastors were my first group to have as guests, but they proved too boring and predictable.  Sorry, my friends and colleagues!  Soon realized that the local garbage man, store clerk, psychologist, teacher, bank executive, lawyer, and policeman were much more interesting.  They would tell their stories of how they came to know Christ.  Each one was different.  In the middle of the show, I had a local vocalist sing a Gospel song.  The second half of the  show focused on the differences the Lord had made in their lives.  Most had fascinating stories to tell.

I also met some amazing singers and sinners(especially the host)!  All knew Jesus… and had been changed by Him.  The show was called ‘Person-to-Person’.  Doing the show, I learned a few things myself.  The main lesson was to do my best for the Lord.  Every year I tried to make the show as professional as possible.  Yet station glitches seemed to pop up at the worst times.  Like their showing our Christmas special two days before Thanksgiving.  Or episodes not starting on time.  Funny, I know.  But it wasn’t to me.  Wanted this to be the best that I could do, appreciating those who gave of their time, and principally for the Lord Himself.  As the Apostle Paul wrote, ‘And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus…'(Colossians 3:17).  I was learning to work very hard for Him.

Lessons for life?  Do it for Him.  And do it with all your might.  I remember reading about a pastor who studied and prepared one hour for each minute of his sermon.  A 20-minute message required 20 hours of preparation.  Commitment. Giving our best.  Think of all that Jesus packed into 3 brief years.  John the Apostle said that all the books in the world couldn’t contain all that Jesus had said and done in those 3 years that He had on this earth(John 21:25).   Does this hit home for you in any way?  What you’re doing for the Lord, and giving Him your very best?  Are you?

Whatever we do, do it all for Him.  For His glory.  To reach others with the best news of all.  Do your very best.  Should we make that a commitment?  How about it?  I’m in!  Are you?

Prayer:  Lord, help us not be lazy and comfortable doing a fair to middling job for you.  In Jesus’ name, the One who gave His all for us.  Amen.

Leave a comment