FALLING INTO THEIR OWN TRAP…Psalm 59

My brother was quite the prankster.  Took after John Gibson, our maternal grandfather.   I think that’s why my Nana Gibson was so taken with him.  She really loved my brother.  I remember when she stayed with us for a few days.  Needless-to-say, my brother was ready for her!    He had dug a large hole in our backyard–probably over four feet in diameter and a few deep.  He had gathered a bunch of twigs, sticks and limbs that had fallen off our old apple tree.  Covered the hole with all this stuff, along with piling leaves to top it off. Looked rather benign.  Not much out of the ordinary.  Must know that our Nana Gibson weighed over 350 pounds in those days.  A bit of a heavy-weight, as my father would have said!    My brother calls out to our Nana to come to the backyard where he was standing. Off she went…down she went!  She should have known better.  But she fell for it anyway!

Psalm 59:12 refers to a different kind of trap.  Not funny at all.  The trap is of pride, of thinking more of yourself than you should.  Being the puffed-up ‘selfie’ in your own picture.  Like Narcissus, who gazed lovingly into a pool of water,  falling in love with his own image,  only to topple off the edge, drowning face-down in his own reflection.  Pride and love…only of himself.

The reward?   A prize that brought death.  That’s what the Bible says here in Psalm 59– ‘…trapped in their own pride'(verse 12).  Fallen into a deep hole, impossible to get out of.   The antidote?  Know of any good escape route?  Good news!   Read on in Psalm 59– ‘But I will sing of your strength;  I will sing aloud of your steadfast love in the morning.  For you have been my fortress and a refuge in the day of my distress.  O my strength, I will sing praises to you, for you, O God, are my fortress, the God who shows me steadfast love'(Psalm 59: 16-17).

Down in that hole, you can look up and see a hand reaching out to you.  It’s not a reflection of your own.  It’s His.  The very hand of God.  Take it…and hold on tight, for dear life.   Focus on HIM.  Praise HIM… as often as you can with whatever strength you have.   Plain and simple… the trap will be sprung.  We will be free in HIM.

 

Prayer:  Lord, help us to look fully on your Son, our Savior, Jesus Christ.  To gaze upon Him, and love Him.  In His name.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

