MY WISH… Psalm 27

I wish I could have earned my salvation.  Now, don’t report me to the heresy squad quite yet!  I know that my salvation is from the Lord alone.  No works on my part had any effect on my salvation.  Believe in Him.  Receive Him into your heart.  The only way.

You see I do know what the Bible teaches.  Somewhere within me is a pocket of guilt that won’t go away.  I don’t deserve His salvation and His love.  I know it’s unconditional love.  Don’t you also know that you don’t deserve it?   Wish I could have earned it and know that it’s mine because of my own blood, sweat and tears.

Is there something to be done about this?  What can the Lord do to help?  Let me be frank(even though my name is John!).  It will take work, that four-letter word.  No short-cuts.  Believe me, I’ve tried.  Here it is:  it takes less listening to ourselves and more hearing Him from His Word.  Stop cultivating our fears.  Stop listening to our debilitating thoughts, letting them have free reign within our hearts and minds.  Listen to the promises of the Lord.

Psalm 27: 11– ‘Teach me your way, O Lord, and lead me on a level path…’  Listen to the Lord as He leads us on level ground.  Not rocky or dangerous in any way.  Taking a big tumble is what can happen when we encourage our doubts and fears.  Heeding His Word levels life out with peace as He promised( Isaiah 26:3).  Verse 8– “You have said, ‘Seek my face.’  My heart says to you, ‘Your face, Lord, do I seek”’.  His face…His voice…His Word…His heart to ours is the way out of what can be a life-long ditch and sinkhole.

Less listening to ourselves, and more from the Lord in His Bible.  That takes work.  Pick up our Bibles and start studying.  But how else will we know when the Lord is talking with us?  I know of no other effective short-cuts.  I’ve looked!  I’ve tried!  Save yourself wasted time and effort.  His Word…off to work we go!

Prayer:  Lord, infuse my mind and heart with your Word, the Bible.  Help me to feed on it…continually.  In Jesus’ name.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

