TIME TO REFLECT… Genesis 28: 10-17

It’s time to reflect.  Where did this business of writing a devotional book begin?  We were driving across country after retiring from our church, when I felt a nudge from the Lord to do some writing for Him.  A devotional book?  I was doing Spring cleaning, preparing for other major changes in our lives.  I discovered a notebook in a bottom desk drawer.  This notebook contained some thoughts and ideas for articles I wanted to write.  This was from the time of my 2nd church, 1975 until 1980.  I had entitled the notebook ‘Reflections Out of Time’.  However, there were very few reflections in it.  In my 20’s and early 30’s, I had little to reflect upon!

But now, decades later, it’s time to reflect.  Time to look back… and forward on my life with the Lord.   I hope what I share is helpful, even timely for you.  But I leave myself an ‘out’,  and is why I also add–‘timely or otherwise’!  May or may not connect.  I hope my writing helps, but no guarantees!

Allow the Scriptures to hover over your life’s experiences.  Like a ladder between earth and heaven, with the angel of the Lord guiding and directing us.  As Jacob said in Genesis 28: 16–‘Surely the Lord is in this place, and I did not know it’.

As I look back and reflect upon my life (warts and all), I can see the Lord’s good hand even when I didn’t have a clue that the Lord was even in the same neighborhood.  How about you?   Time to reflect on your life?  To see the ladder from heaven to earth in your journey?  Together we can say with Jacob– ‘How awesome is this place!  This is none other that the house of God, and this is the gate of heaven’ (Genesis 28: 17).

How awesome is my life in the Lord.  How wonderful to dwell in the house of the Lord,  now and forever.  How amazing to stand at His gate which is wide open ready to welcome us home,  all because of His Son Jesus Christ.  How great is our God!

How good to reflect on Him.  Amen?   Like a good mirror, we want to reflect Him so that others, who need Him, can see some of Him… in us.  That’s worth reflecting on.  Well, I’m out of time today. Reflections…out of time!  Hope this has been timely…or otherwise!

Prayer: Lord, thank you for the grace to look back and the joy of looking forward.  In Jesus’ name.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

