ACCOUNTING 101… Philippians 3: 1-11

There’s no accounting for why I had such grave difficulties with Accounting 101 at Fairleigh Dickinson University.  It was the pits for me!  Did not compute at all, not in the least.  Don’t remember my grade, probably because I’ve blocked it out of my mind!

I had really wanted to be a stockbroker.  My father had even taken me to New York City to meet with a friend’s son, who was a top broker with a major investment firm.  We had lunch in the opulent corporate dining room.  Talking with this broker, he mentioned that what I needed more than anything else was something that startled me.  It made me most uncomfortable.

I was a new believer in Jesus Christ and had started reading the Bible, not that this came up in our conversation that day at all.  It didn’t.  But my internal conversation was alive and well.  He told me that I had to love money.  ‘Just love it’, he advised.  That set off my internal thoughts to a fever pitch.  After all, I had read of that warning about loving money in 1 Timothy 6:10.  All kinds of roots and brambles from its love.  Nothing inherently evil,  but when idolized and worshipped the evil is let loose with horrific consequences.

That broker’s advice broke the spell of that career for me, which was finally pronounced dead-and-buried through Accounting 101 but a year or two later!   I was reading today about the Apostle Paul’s accounting-method in Philippians 3.  He lists all his accounts-receivables, all those debits to his account.  All the plus columns of his life…circumcised on the 8th day, of Israel and the tribe of Benjamin, a Hebrew of Hebrews, a strict Pharisee, a zealous persecutor of the church of Jesus Christ.  All these should add up to a sterling disciple of God.  All the debits and receivables needed for righteousness and purity.

But no, Paul’s accounting takes the debits and makes them credits, the accounts- receivables become accounts-payable.  The tables are turned upside down.  He says that all those pluses are really zeroes… compared to knowing Jesus.  Everything else is plain ‘rubbish’ (verse 8).  That word  ‘rubbish’ in the original Greek means ‘dung’, to put it  politely!

All that really matters in life is not money, but to love and know the Savior.   Not things about Him, but to know Him.  To care about what He cares about.  To talk with Him and then hear from Him in His Word, the Bible.  To serve Him and eagerly await the time when we’ll be with Him forever.  As the Apostle Paul said, ‘that I may know Him…'(v. 10).

Now, that adds up!  He balances all the books.  He turns all that rubbish… into eternal rewards!

Prayer: Lord, thank you for all your blessings to us.  In Jesus’ name.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

